Weblogs

Apr 21st

2009

Comments Comments 31
CategoryPosted in: Marketing, Self-Promotion, Web/Tech, Weblogs

Blogroll

blogroll

As a follow-up to last week’s series on blogging for photographers, here’s a list of the blogs I look to as a standard. They’re mostly personal blogs with solid traffic, unique voices and good content. A number of you sent suggestions that included your own blog and I encourage everyone to go back to the comments on that post HERE – to see more suggestions both in regards to blogs and to hosting and blog platforms. Some excellent reader feedback there. So please don’t take offense if your blog isn’t in the list below, this is a pretty cursory list of solid, more established blogs that I hope will inspire you as you build your own blogs to reflect your purpose and passion. Being on this list means something, but not being on it doesn’t necessarily mean anything. Hope that makes sense.

M.D. Welch – http://www.depth-of-field.com/blog/

Scott Kelby – http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/

Matt Brandon – http://www.thedigitaltrekker.com/blog/

Gavin Gough – http://www.gavingough.com/blog

Joe McNally – http://www.joemcnally.com/blog/

Moose Peterson -http://www.moosenewsblog.com/

Chase Jarvis – http://blog.chasejarvis.com/blog/

Strobist – http://strobist.blogspot.com/

Tewfic El-Sawy – http://thetravelphotographer.blogspot.com/

Drew Gardner – http://photography-thedarkart.blogspot.com/

Bruce Percy – http://www.brucepercy.com/blog/

Zack Arias – http://www.zarias.com/

David Nightingale – http://www.chromasia.com/iblog/index.php

Kirk Tuck – http://visualsciencelab.blogspot.com/

Jessica Claire – http://www.jessicaclaire.net/

Jasmine Star – http://www.jasminestarblog.com/

Guy Tal – http://guytal.com/wordpress/

Kathleen Connally – http://www.durhamtownship.com/

Dane Sanders – http://blog.danesanders.com/

Did I miss someone that you think is an absolute must-have on the list? Doesn’t surprise me. The Internets are a big place. Drop it into the comments.

As far as hosting goes I want to plug ETWebHosting again. (Click here to go to their WordPress hosting page) They also own DomainSmarty, so the process of registering your name and hosting it are seemless – I don’t like complications and doing it all in one place with a company that has brilliant customer service is my kind of service. The company is owned by my buddy, we’ve travelled around the world together, he’s photographer friendly, and unlike most of the companies I’ve dealt with or heard horror stories about, his company doesn’t speak geek to us mere mortals.  If you’re a pro, or plan to be, having a dedicated name for  your blog – like, for example, Moose Peterson’s MooseNewsBlog.com – is way better than moosepeterson.blogspot.com – it’s just one step closer to projecting a fully professional image. Of course there are exceptions. David Hobby’s Strobist site is as plain jane as it gets and the name is still strobist.blogspot.com, but his content is so good and so well known that it trumps other considerations.

I also want to encourage you to spread the word about your blog. If you take the time to write consistently, then take the time to publicize it. Connect to others, share the love, get on Twitter and direct traffic to your great content and images.

If I can answer questions related to blogging as a photographer, I’d love to. I know that some of the other readers will have some excellent feedback to, so drop the questions into the comments and together we’ll do what we can to get you blogging and doing it well. Now take a moment and visit a few of the sites above.

Apr 16th

2009

Comments Comments 49
CategoryPosted in: Freelance and Business, Marketing, Self-Promotion, Web/Tech, Weblogs

The Photographer and the Blog, Part 3

So if I didn’t dissuade you from blogging yesterday, and the lame photo above doesn’t turn you off, here’s a few suggestions for plunging headlong into blogging. Taylor Davidson left a comment on Tuesday’s post citing anecdotal evidence that many blogs don’t make it past the 3 month mark. Don’t let this happen to you. […]

Mar 6th

2009

Comments Comments 17
CategoryPosted in: Marketing, Self-Promotion, Weblogs

Playing In Traffic

A few comments rolled in after yesterday’s post about the Fluid Galleries Giveaway asking about generating traffic to your website. Fluid Galleries or any strictly Flash-based site left without any kind of modifications has some limitations, one of the biggest of which is the difficulty – nay, the impossibility – of it being easily indexed […]

Nov 1st

2008

Comments Comments 19
CategoryPosted in: News & Stuff, Weblogs

Pixelated Forums? UPDATED

One of the goals I’ve had with this blog is to form it into a community of like-minded and like-hearted photographers like yourself. This is beginning to happen, and I couldn’t be more excited about the people that are hanging around here. So, with that in mind – would having a little more interactivity be […]

Page 1 of 3123